A Student Journalist’s Perspective.

With the current job climate affecting all students, Third year Swansea University journalist student and The Waterfront features editor, Samantha Booth, shares her thoughts and tips about finding a job after university in an interview for this blog.

1.) What do you think about the current job climate for Swansea graduates?

“It entirely depends on what you want to go into but those with special interests seem more likely to be employed on a graduate wage because of the specialty of their studies, however, I think that the market is tough for anyone at the moment”

2.) Do you think a degree still stands out to employers? Or are extra-curricular experiences needed?

“Again, it depends on your field. As an Arts and Humanities student, I think it’s very important to get work experience whilst studying; university offers the right climate to pursue other activities that can enhance your CV, especially if you have some idea of what career you want to pursue post-graduation.
I suppose the generic answer would be that the market is saturated with graduates so you need something to stand out from the crowd. Without being too general, I do think this is the case. It’s unfortunate that the next step up is seen to be further education but I don’t always think that has to be the case. Personally, I think that someone who has traveled the world and experienced different cultures can be a much intellectually and socially rich person than those just put through the line of education. But as I previously stated, it entirely depends on what line of study you are in”

3.) Why do you think the amount of graduates in non-graduate jobs have risen?

“Graduates have to pay the bills and begin to make a living so I can completely understand why anyone would get any job as opposed to continually searching for a job in the field of study. The market is so highly saturated with graduates, I imagine it can be very frustrating to continually apply for jobs and seeing the, unfortunately we’ve had a high number of applicants email a few weeks later every time”

4.)What experiences has Swansea University allowed you to participate in to help you get into your future career?

“University has allowed me to gain a large amount of work experience and contacts. The lack of constraints on university life allows me to travel around the country pursuing activities that are crucial to my graduate career like writing for The Waterfront and helping to run SU-TV”

5.) What advice have you received about finding employment after university?

“To be honest, I haven’t really. I’ve had people telling me to do a masters but I know that I’d prefer to travel and try to find work in the media industry abroad. I mainly listen to my parents as they know me better than anyone! And I always listen to advice that I get from contacts at networking events; even if I don’t agree it’s key to keep an open mind”

6.) What are your own plans after graduating?

“Fingers crossed, I hope to do an NCTJ course for the year after graduation which will give me the skills I need to become a trainee journalist. After I’ve finished, I plan to go back to China to brush up on Mandarin skills and find work in the journalism industry. But who knows, that could all change”

One thought on “A Student Journalist’s Perspective.

Leave a Reply

